Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Are you ready to get the healthy eating back on track after the indulgence and partying of 2013?
Whether your trousers are feeling a bit tight or whether you simply want to banish the sluggish feeling of winter comfort eating… it’s time to feel re-energised and ready for a healthy, happy 2014.

Vegan Burger

Did you make any foodie New Year’s resolutions this year? I’ve already spotted lots of great blog posts about reducing meat, dairy, refined sugar etc.
I haven’t made a resolution as such, but I would really like to include more raw food into my diet this year – one of the big motivators was Vegfest LondonΒ back in October. The cookery demonstrations were great fun and featured lots of raw food ideas that got me really excited. ( I never thought I would write ‘raw’ and ‘excited’ in the same sentence!)
Chad Sarno, an awesome chef and speaker, delivered an inspirational cookery demo on how to incorporate creative raw meals in our diet… and the urgent need for a mandoline food slicer in my life! (Surely, a food photographer cannot live without one.) Oh yes, we’re having ‘julienned and wafer-thin everything’ in our salads and stir-fries at the moment. I do like a new kitchen toy πŸ˜‰

For the first January post, I’d like to share my favourite Vitality Salad with you and hope it inspires you to add more raw awesomeness into your life! It’s brimming with superfoods to satisfy your tastebuds and give you lots of energy and nutrients for a healthier start to the year. The vibrant, rich colours always cheer me up when the weather is dull and grey outside.

Vegan Vitality Salad

New Year’s Resolution Salad with ‘Honey’ and Mustard dressing

I brought a big bowl of this to our New Years Eve party and it vanished in minutes!

A bunch of dark green leaves (such as spinach, rocket, watercress)
Some pretty red leaves, e.g. red chard, young beetroot leaves, radicchio (a great liver cleanser!)
one avocado
black grapes
pomegranate seeds
walnut pieces
two spring onions
fresh parsley

For the dressing:
3 tablespoons of olive oil
1 tablespoon cider vinegar
1 teaspoon of wholegrain mustard
1 teaspoon agave nectar
pinch of sea salt

The little soya burgers in the picture above came courtesy of my family in Germany. The organic ingredients include chickpea flour which gives them a similar texture and taste to falafel.
Great if you are struggling for time as you literally have to add warm water and let it sit for five minutes before you can cook them! As usual, I can’t follow instructions as simple as this πŸ˜‰ and added a sautΓ©ed onion, some finely chopped walnuts and a handful of chopped parsley to the mix which really boosted the flavour.
Natura Bratlinge

Happy cooking, baking and sharing! I’d love to know if you have made a resolution for 2014. Once you have put it in writing here, it will be a lot harder to forget by the end of next week πŸ˜‰

For commissioned food writing and photography visitΒ www.flavourphotos.com

