Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Do you try your hardest to create the perfect festive atmosphere for your family and then totally forget to look after yourself? It’s time for a moment of calm and indulgence.

Spitzbuben 3

I bought myself a present, a special advent calendar treat, when I was in Germany last month. There’s a wonderful company called Sonnentor (sun gate) which make the most beautiful teas, herbs and spices. I love (LOVE!) what they do with their packaging and if I could carry it all back in my suitcase, I would fill my kitchen from top to bottom with their delightful little tins, packets and tea boxes.
Tea  Tea2

This gorgeous selection box comes filled with 24 different organic teas and a little booklet with festive ideas and wishes. Here’s December 1st : ‘I wish that you will finally find the time again to bake your favourite biscuits.’ Ahhhhh, how sweet is that?

So, with the kids in school, this is my time for peaceful baking and a mug of delicately spiced tea (which includes lemongrass, peppermint, daisies, cornflowers and calendula).
I can’t blame the spilt flour and messy kitchen on anybody else but I might just manage to clear it all away before school pick-up time!

Spitzbuben 2

Spitzbuben (Cheeky Chaps)

135g (1 cup) flour
100g (1/2 cup) margarine
50g (1/4 cup) caster sugar
1 egg replacer (e.g. Orgran)
zest of 1/2 lemon
strawberry jam
icing sugar

Preheat the oven to 170˚C /340˚F.
Cut the margarine into small cubes and combine with the flour, sugar, lemon zest and egg replacer. I added the egg replacer as powder and just enough water to make a smooth dough.
Roll out the pastry on a floured surface. Cut out circles and stamp out a pretty shape for half of your circles. Bake until they are a light golden colour.

To assemble, spread a little strawberry jam on the ‘bottom halves’ and gently sandwich the biscuits together. Dust with icing sugar and sit back to enjoy a little festive time out, just for you!

Spitzbuben 1

Spitzbuben 4
They make very cute little gifts too if you feel kind and generous 🙂 What do you do during the festive season to look after yourself? Have you got any traditions that make you peaceful and happy?

If you need some more beautiful food photography in your life visit my website www.flavourphotos.com and say Hi 🙂

